Home > Fulfilling marriages..... > After 5 years in marriage it is all about God

After 5 years in marriage it is all about God


Five years ago today, I married my college sweetheart in one of those simple but intimate weddings. I even composed a song for her which made her tear as she walked down the aisle. I shed a tear or two also overwhelmed by God’s blessing of a wife and a beautiful wedding.

harusi

Like every lovebirds we had our dreams and plans. Talk about where we would be in five years in terms of children, relationship, careers, finances….. Looking back now, I have mixed results. There are things I expected to have attained by now but I haven’t. On the other side there are others I didn’t even think of but I have them.

As I review the first five years of marriage, I find answers in the wedding sermon titled ‘Having Jesus in the marriage boat.’ I can remember vividly Pastor Edward Munene asking us   “Is God in this boat?”  In retrospect I am glad our answer was Yes. There are many instances we have had to hold our hands and ‘wake Jesus up’ to calm the storms of life like the disciples did back in the day. Many of those times he has answered as we wished, other times though he has felt so silent, but the good thing is that his grace had been sufficient. The greatest lesson however for my wife and I has been to appreciate that this life is not our own. There is a God in control who runs our lives according to what he believes is good for us.Wedding pic

Like the bible says a man plans but the lord establishes. Appreciating this truth has made us thankful when we didn’t get what we had wished for. It has also made us grateful for blessings we didn’t except.  There are things we have survived that I look back and wonder how we did, it can only be because of God’s grace.

In a world where happiness in marriage has lost currency one feels humbled to have enjoyed it for 5years. It has also challenged us to do our simple part: trust in him more and be committed to making it work.

As we look up to more years of bliss, we can only surrender to him because clearly he has it all figured out.

Wedding day memories:

  1. munene triza
    November 28, 2014 at 10:18 am

    waow congrats on your anniversarry..have been a faithful fan of this page.i have learnt alot on marriage n love life.blessings

  2. munene triza
    November 28, 2014 at 10:17 am

    woaw congrats.have been following this pa
    ge .i have learnt alot on marriage.keep it up.blessings.

  3. Esther
    November 17, 2014 at 7:11 am

    Congratulations to you and your wife. You are a great inspiration to many. I wish you many happy years together.

  4. November 16, 2014 at 5:46 pm

    Congratulations and may you live to have more such anniversaries. Some of us learn a lot from your pieces.

  5. David
    November 15, 2014 at 3:01 pm

    Happy anniversary to you both! Your sharing has been a blessing to me. Thanks and may the Lord give back to you both, a good measure.. pressed down and shaken together!

  6. November 15, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    Awesome! Congratulations on your 5th Anniversary! This sweet journey is never easy, Only GOD!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment